What is Vanish Mode on Messenger? How to use the disappearing message feature

(2 months ago)
What is Vanish Mode on Messenger? How to use the disappearing message feature

The past decade has seen more and more social media users turn to apps like Snapchat and Instagram to post "temporary" updates.

Whether it be images that only last for a few seconds or Stories that only last a day, users love the exclusivity and privacy of disappearing messages.

That's what Messenger's Vanish Mode is for. Vanish Mode is another temporary social media app, just like the ones you probably use every day.

Here's how Vanish Mode works and how to use it.

Table of Content
  1. What is Vanish Mode in Messenger?
  2. How to use Vanish Mode in Messenger

What is Vanish Mode in Messenger?

Vanish Mode is a feature in the Messenger app that lets you send temporary messages to anyone you have an active chat with.

These messages only last until the recipient reads them, after which they'll disappear. It's a great way to send quick messages without clogging up your regular chat.

If you or your friend take a screenshot of the Vanish Mode chat, both users will be alerted. And if you want to report a chat conversation, any Vanish Mode messages will be included in the report for up to an hour after you've seen them.

Both users will know when someone takes a screenshot.

It's also turned off by default, meaning that if someone sends you a Vanish Mode message, you'll have to put your own chat in Vanish Mode before you see their messages (and vice-versa).

How to use Vanish Mode in Messenger

To use Vanish Mode, you'll need to have the Messenger app (previously known as Facebook Messenger) installed on your iPhone or Android.

  1. Open Messenger and open or start a chat with someone. It'll need to be a one-on-one conversation - Vanish Mode doesn't work in group chats.
  2. Swipe up from the bottom of the screen. You should see a message telling you to swipe for Vanish Mode. Keep dragging your finger until the circle icon is entirely filled.
You'll need to swipe up to activate Vanish Mode.
You'll need to swipe up to activate Vanish Mode.
  1. Your current chat will disappear and be replaced by an empty Vanish Mode screen. If this is your first time activating the feature, you'll also get a pop-up with some information about Vanish Mode.
You'll see an introduction screen the first time you turn on Vanish Mode.
You'll see an introduction screen the first time you turn on Vanish Mode.
  1. On the Vanish Mode screen, you can send messages or pictures like a normal conversation. These will last until the recipient sees your message, and then closes the chat.
Tags:

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.